by Gus_Sin
wtcannonjr wrote:
Mike1977 wrote:
In this thread, the following rule was brought up: "If you discover that you cannot legally attack your target during this step, you may cancel the attack and choose a different target, or even take a completely different action." Is this rule in place in case of human error? Or is there an ingame situation that could actually cause this rule to come into effect?
Mike,
I think what was missing from the discussion before was the "...during this step..." clause, which is happening during the Declare Attack step (rulebook p. 27).
Since the reveal of DI is happening AFTER the [Declare Attack] step, then the statement about selecting a different target DURING the step would no longer apply and the attack ends.
We actually did point that out at some stage during the discussion (it's a long thread, I know) but I think Mike is asking if there is anything in the game that might cause the target to become illegal during declare attack stage. Well I would say no there isn't and you are right this statement is there to cover human error.
And thanks Brian, for taking the time to answer our question. Much appreciated. (Although once we figured out that DI can be revealed, it should have been obvious that the attack would fail and CL would end. I think I unnecessarily confused myself there.)
Anyway thanks again for your help.